In keeping with a tradition of fostering critical debate and encouraging active participation and awareness-raising, EXD05 introduces the Open Talks during the Opening Week.

In an informal setup, national and international experts and media professionals will be joined by the audience in discussing current matters arising from the theme of the Biennale as well as its underlying issues.

The Open Talks format comprehends two separate steps.
During the first hour, the Talk Host introduce the theme, followed by a series of interventions by the invited Talkers. These interventions will be allowed to be interrupted by the two invited Media professionals.
During the second hour, the debate is coordinated by the Talk Host, while the Agents Provocateurs, the Media participants and the audience are free to intervene..

Palácio Pombal
Rua do Alecrim,70
1200-018 Lisboa

H 11h30 - 13h30

100, 58
Baixa Chiado, Cais do Sodré
Cais do Sodré Station (Linha de Cascais)
Cais do Sodré Station

Free entrance, subject to room capacity.
The Open Talks are in English.

Associated Brand:

Communication Design
Sep 15
11h30 - 13h30

Talk Host: Max Bruinsma [NL];
Talkers: Erik Adigard [NL]; Garth Walker [ZA]; Kurnal Rawat [IN]; Jonathan Barnbrook [UK];
Media: Étienne Hervy, Étapes [FR]; Petra Schmidt, Form [DE];
Agents Provocateurs: Stefan Sagmeister [AT]; António Silveira Gomes [PT]; Mário Moura [PT]; Henrique Cayatte [PT]; Monika Parrinder [UK]; Luca Ballarini [IT]; Claes Britton [SE]; Willem van Weelden [NL];

City and Architecture
Sep 16
11h30 - 13h30

Talk Host: John Thackara [UK];
Talkers: Ayssar Arida [UK]; Pedro Gadanho [PT];
Media: Stefano Casciani, Domus [IT]; Kieran Long, Icon [UK];
Agents Provocateurs: Lucy Bullivant [UK]; Ricardo Carvalho [PT]; Jacopo Crivelli Visconti [IT]; Helena Roseta [PT]; Colin Davies [UK];

Industry x New Crafts
Sep 17
11h30 - 13h30

Talk Host: Emily Campbell [UK];
Talkers: Jaime Hayon [ES]; Lars Engman [SE]; Marc Newson [AU]; Michael Cross [UK];
Media: Robert Thiemann, Frame [NL]; Chantal Hamaide, Intramuros [FR];
Agents Provocateurs: Andreas Nobel [SE]; Ed Annink [NL]; Brigitte Fitoussi [FR]; Ewa Kumlin [SE]; Miguel Rios [PT]; Fernando Brízio [PT]; Filipe Alarcão [PT]; Andrée Cooke [UK];