Less is Better
Less will no doubt be the keyword for 2009. Millions of people will have less money, less houses, less comfort, less to eat. We have reached the limits of our financial and natural resources and we can’t borrow more. So we need to settle for less.

As negative as this reality of ‘less’ may sound, we should ask ourselves how we can make the most of it. Can less be more? Can Mies van der Rohe’s famous adage acquire new meaning, not just in stylistic terms, but as a positive drive towards more sustainable and economically viable design strategies? How can less be better?

Much has been said about the necessity to fight overconsumption, to save resources, energy and time. But how can we put these urgent insights into practice? How can we develop design products and strategies to achieve a ‘positive less’ and not feel impoverished by it? Can we redesign greed? Can we make ‘less’ look sexy? How can ‘less’ become an enlightening value instead of a restrictive fact?

EXD rallied a group of countries and their creative communities to answer this challenge. The result will be an experimental showcasing proposing new ideas, concepts and strategies addressing the motto ‘Less is Better’.

Material and immaterial, these new artifacts for the 21st century should require less resources, less complex production systems and use easier forms of distribution. We hope they are timeless.

PHOTO: Timeless

PHOTO: Timeless

PHOTO: Timeless

PHOTO: Timeless
12.09.09 - 08.11.09
10:00-22:00 FRI

Closed Tuesdays

Museu do Oriente
Av. Brasília, Doca de Alcântara (Norte)
1350-362 Lisboa

T +351 213 585 299

Tram: 15 E, 18E
Bus: 12, 28, 714, 738, 742
Train: Alcântara, Alcântara-Terra

exhibition —
Clare Cumberlidge + Alison Moloney + Catherine Ince (GB);
Gunjan Gupta + Alice Cicolini (IN);
Pedrita + Frederico Duarte (PT);
Design Indaba (ZA);
Exhibition design: Miguel Vieira
Baptista (PT)
Graphic design: Nuno Luz (PT)

participants —
United Kingdom
Anthony Burrill
Ben Kelly
Fabien Cappello
Linda Brothwell
Public Works

Alice Cicolini
Ayush Kasliwal
Desmond Lazaro
Guarav Gupta
Gunjan Gupta
Jigisha Patel
Manish Arora
Padmaja Krishnan
Shilpa Chavan
Tania Khosla

Albio Nascimento + Kathi Stertzig
Daniela Pais
Francisco Laranjo
Joana & Mariana
Nuno Coelho
The Office

South Africa
Anwar Jahangeer
Design Indaba Trust – architect team
FabricNation - Jane Solomon
Grant Gibbs
Green Grass Design
Heath Nash
Jonathan Shapiro
Julia Anastasopoulos
Net#work BBDO
PlayPumps International
Quivertree Publications
Tsai Design Studio
Yda Walt
…xyz design

special participants —
Aurelindo Jaime Ceia (PT)
Eduardo Afonso Dias (PT)

co-production —
British Council
Seven Art Limited
Interactive Africa